2016-2017 State Coordinators

ABCC State Coordinators maintain a database of Black, Latino, Asian American and Native American Centers in their states. From networking with Centers to serving as the contact person for national headquarters for the Kuumba Programming Series (ABCC independent speakers bureau) in their state, State Coordinators are vital to growing the ABCC. In addition, State Coordinators maintain a current ABCC institutional membership and attend the ABCC national conference. State Coordinator is not a time consuming position; our most effective State Coordinators invest only a couple of hours a week fulfilling their commitment to the ABCC. If you’re interested in serving as a State Coordinator, please email ABCC Founder/Executive Director Dr. Fred Hord at fhord@niu.edu.

Colorado
Colorado State University
Bridgette Johnson
Director, Black/African American Cultural Center
bridgette.johnson@colostate.edu

Connecticut
Yale University
Risë Nelson
Director, Afro-American Cultural Center and Assistant Dean
rise.nelson@yale.edu

Delaware
University of Delaware
Kasandra Moye
Director, Center for Black Culture
moye@udel.edu

Georgia
University of West Georgia
Deirdre Haywood-Rouse
Director, Center for Diversity and Inclusion
dhaywood@westga.edu

Illinois
Knox College
Dr. Kwame Zulu Shabazz
Visiting Instructor of Africana Studies
kwameshabazz@gmail.com

Iowa
Cornell College
Schvalla Rivera
Assistant Dean of Students and Director of Intercultural Life
SRivera@cornellcollege.edu

Lousiana
Louisiana State University
Dr. LaKeitha Poole
Coordinator, African American Student Affairs
lpoole2@lsu.edu

Maine
Colby College
Dr. Tashia Bradley
Senior Associate Dean of Students and Diversity, Inclusion, and Equity Programs
tbradley@colby.edu

Massachusetts
Northeastern University
Dr. Richard O'Bryant
Director, John D. O'Bryant African American Institute
r.obryant@neu.edu

Minnesota
Winona State University
Alexander Hines
Director of Inclusion & Diversity
ahines@winona.edu

Missouri
Truman State University
Carol Bennett
Assistant Dean of Multicultural Affairs
cbennett@truman.edu

New Mexico
University of New Mexico
William Scott Carreathers
Director of African American Student Services
wcarrea@unm.edu

South Carolina
College of Charleston
Dr. Teresa Smith
Director of Multicultural Student Programs and Services
smitht@cofc.edu

Tennessee
Vanderbilt University
Dr. Frank E. Dobson, Jr
Assistant Dean and Director, Bishop Joseph Johnson Black Cultural Center
frank.dobson@vanderbilt.edu

Virginia
University of Virginia
Dr. Michael Gerard Mason
Assistant Dean, African American Affairs
Director, Luther Porter Jackson Black Cultural Center
Director, Project RISE
mgm7g@virginia.edu

Washington
University of Washington
Dr. Marisa Herrera
Director, Samuel E. Kelly Ethnic Cultural Center
mherrer@uw.edu

West Virginia
West Virginia University
Marjorie Fuller
Director, Center for Black Culture
Marjorie.fuller@mail.wvu.edu

Wisconsin
Ripon College
Kyonna (Withers) Henry
Director of Multicultural Affairs
withersk@ripon.edu