2017-2018 State Coordinators

ABCC State Coordinators maintain a database of Black, Latino, Asian American and Native American Centers in their states. From networking with Centers to serving as the contact person for national headquarters for the Kuumba Programming Series (ABCC independent speakers bureau) in their state, State Coordinators are vital to growing the ABCC. In addition, State Coordinators maintain a current ABCC institutional membership and attend the ABCC national conference. State Coordinator is not a time consuming position; our most effective State Coordinators invest only a couple of hours a week fulfilling their commitment to the ABCC. If you’re interested in serving as a State Coordinator, please email ABCC Founder/Executive Director Dr. Fred Hord at fhord@niu.edu.

Colorado
Colorado State University
Bridgette Johnson
Director, Black/African American Cultural Center
bridgette.johnson@colostate.edu
Connecticut
Yale University
Risë Nelson
Director, Afro-American Cultural Center and Assistant Dean
rise.nelson@yale.edu
Delaware
University of Delaware
Kasandra Moye
Director, Center for Black Culture
moye@udel.edu
Georgia
University of West Georgia
Deirdre Haywood-Rouse
Director, Center for Diversity and Inclusion
dhaywood@westga.edu
Illinois
Knox College
Kwame Zulu Shabazz
Visiting Instructor of Africana Studies
kwameshabazz@gmail.com
Lousiana
Louisiana State University
Dr. LaKeitha Poole
Director, Sport Psychology & Counseling Services
lpoole2@lsu.edu
Massachusetts
Northeastern University
Dr. Richard O'Bryant
Director, John D. O'Bryant African American Institute
r.obryant@neu.edu
Minnesota
University of Minnesota
Alexander Hines
Director of Diversity, Access and Equity & MLK & PES Programs - College of Liberal Arts
ahines@umn.edu
Missouri
Truman State University
Carol Bennett
Assistant Dean of Multicultural Affairs
cbennett@truman.edu
New Mexico
University of New Mexico
William Scott Carreathers
Director of African American Student Services
wcarrea@unm.edu
North Carolina
University of North Carolina Wilmington
Sean Palmer
Director, Upperman African American Cultural Center
palmers@uncw.edu
South Carolina
College of Charleston
Dr. Teresa Smith
Director of Multicultural Student Programs and Services
smitht@cofc.edu
Tennessee
Vanderbilt University
Dr. Frank E. Dobson, Jr
Assistant Dean and Director, Bishop Joseph Johnson Black Cultural Center
frank.dobson@vanderbilt.edu
Virginia
University of Virginia
Dr. Michael Gerard Mason
Assistant Dean, African American Affairs
Director, Luther Porter Jackson Black Cultural Center
Director, Project RISE
mgm7g@virginia.edu
Washington
University of Washington
Dr. Marisa Herrera
Director, Samuel E. Kelly Ethnic Cultural Center
mherrer@uw.edu
West Virginia
West Virginia University
Marjorie Fuller
Director, Center for Black Culture
Marjorie.fuller@mail.wvu.edu
Wisconsin
Ripon College
Kyonna (Withers) Henry
Director of Multicultural Affairs
withersk@ripon.edu